News Release
Holder Wins Spackler
Player Meeting Scheduled
Touching a Ball Explained
Tee of Play
Yellow & Red Stakes Explained
3rd Set of Participant Options Open
Championship Preview
Lost Ball Explained
White Stakes Explained
Talking About Practice
Awards Set
The Quest for Gold
Outstanding Balances Due
2nd Set of Participant Options Open
2023 Roster Set
Replay Round Modified
Outstanding Balances Due
Phase 3 Deadline is March 21
Final Roster Space Explained
Roster Acceptance Begins: Phase 3
Replay Round Modified

March 27, 2023

CHOCOWINITY, NC — The Captains Club announced today a change to the optional Friday 4-man Scramble. The optional replay round is the only team event at the Carl Spackler Open.

"We are making some additional changes this year," said Captains Club member Marty Whalen. "Our changes to the replay round replaces the scramble with a shamble."

The new shamble format includes slight changes to the traditional round. Each foursome pairing is a team. The team will divide itself into two groups. The goal is to have two golfers in each group.

The first set of participant options is collecting a replay round roster. The replay round will cost $25.00.

General scramble rules apply, however modifications include…

Par 4’s and Par 5’s First par 4 or 5 group 1 tees off, group 2 hits second shot. Then all 4 players will play out hole as a 4 man scrambles. The next par 4 or 5, group 2 tees off, group 1 hits second shot. Again, all 4 players will play out hole as a 4 man scrambles.

Par 3’s only All 4 team players will tee off and play it like a regular scramble. Bogey is the worst score you can take on a hole.

The 2023 shamble will be held on Friday, June 23. The replay round will be played at Cypress Landing Golf Course approx. 30 minutes after tournament play.

The Carl Spackler Open reached its maximum with 84 golfers back on March 1. The 22-year old event accepted 92 registrants over the past 90 days with 11 golfers being unregistered. The 54-hole handicapped golf tournament field includes 2022 Champion Chad Cronauer, 2018 Champion Chris Price, 2017 Champion Kess McLennan, 2016 Champion Marty Whalen, and 2015 Champion Allan Hench.